The English Football Championship Begins Today


The English Football Championship begins today with the opening round fixture being Blackburn Rovers hosting Cardiff City at Ewood Park.

This year the Championship will feature 24 teams and we have listed them here along with their home ground and current manager:

Birmingham City – St Andrew’s – Lee Clark

Blackburn Rovers – Ewood Park – Gary Bowyer

Blackpool – Bloomfield Road – José Riga

Bolton Wanderers – Macron Stadium – Dougie Freedman

Bournemouth – Dean Court – Eddie Howe

Brentford – Griffin Park – Mark Warburton

Brighton & Hove Albion – Falmer Stadium – Sami Hyypiä

Cardiff City – Cardiff City Stadium – Ole Gunnar Solskjær

Charlton Athletic – The Valley – Bob Peeters

Derby County – Pride Park – Steve McClaren

Fulham – Craven Cottage – Felix Magath

Huddersfield Town – John Smith’s Stadium – Mark Robins

Ipswich Town – Portman Road – Mick McCarthy

Leeds United – Elland Road – Dave Hockaday

Middlesbrough – Riverside Stadium – Aitor Karanka

Millwall – The Den – Ian Holloway

Norwich City – Carrow Road – Neil Adams

Nottingham Forest – City Ground – Stuart Pearce

Reading – Madejski Stadium – Nigel Adkins

Rotherham United – New York Stadium – Steve Evans

Sheffield Wednesday – Hillsborough – Stuart Gray

Watford – Vicarage Road – Giuseppe Sannino

Wigan Athletic – DW Stadium – Uwe Rösler

Wolverhampton Wanderers – Molineux – Kenny Jackett

The teams that were relegated from the Premier League are Cardiff City, Fulham and Norwich City, while Brentford, Wolverhampton Wanderers and Rotherham United were promoted from the Football League One.

The teams who have undergone managerial changes are as follows:

Blackpool – José Riga replaces Barry Ferguson

Brighton & Hove Albion – Sami Hyypiä replaces Óscar García

Charlton Athletic – Bob Peeters replaces José Riga

Leeds United – David Hockaday replaces Brian McDermott

As with previous seasons of the English Football Championship, the Top 3 teams at the end of the season will earn promotion to the Premier League, while the Bottom 3 teams will be relegated to Football League One.